Too Many Groceries

I live with a lot of other people, and we don’t really cooperate when it comes to shopping. This means that there usually ends up being more of what we don’t need, and less of what we do. For example, If I were to go into my pantry right now, I would find seven jars of open peanut butter. I do not eat peanut butter, and neither do about half the people in my house. I’ve been trying to chip away at it by using it in dishes. I’ve already made peanut butter cookies, and next I’m thinking fudge or a peanut noodles dish of some kind. Another thing we have way too much of is noodles. There were some sales at a few grocery stores, and my roommate went a little overboard. Now, I like noodles, but I can only eat so much of the same food before it starts to drive me crazy. I realize noodles don’t go bad quickly or anything, but one of the reasons I don’t stock pile is because I don’t have the space for it. And those boxes of noodles take up precious space.

Finally, there’s my personal stockpile of MiO. I got hooked when I was able to combine a coupon with a future savings offer, and during that time, I bought a ton. Since then I’ve bought more, because I like to vary the flavors, and there were a few coupons for them, sometimes where you had to buy two.

There are multiple solutions to a problem like this, and I’m working on all of them. The first one is to be creative. For example, a few days ago I wanted to make lasagna, but instead of making it the traditional way, I layered the sauce, meat, and cheese with noodles that we already had cooked. Another is to coordinate your shopping. I have started to do a lot more of the shopping at my house, and now that we eat together more often, that means less groceries. We also try to use what we have instead of buying something else. Also, I am doing more to prevent the problem from happening in the first place. Even if I find a good deal on something, I hold back, knowing that I already have food at my house, and will in no way starve. Deals come and go, and this won’t be my only chance to buy something that I really like. I also think about things before I buy and decide if its something I really want or need, or will be using soon.

Are there any foods in your house that just seem to pile up?

About chesirecat136

I started this blog because most money-saving blogs are written by mothers, especially stay-at-home. I do not fit this bill, but I want to save money, and share with others how I do it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

